‘Mont Petroso’, a small village perched high on a hill,
reflects the quiet of Dordogne, country life lived in harmony
with the seasons. The commune of Montpeyroux is beautifully
situated in the picturesque Lidoire valley which was, until
the 18th century, of serious economic importance as is shown
by the numerous windmills and religious establishments which
were built there.
The area whose name means ‘ Pierre’s Mountain’ has been
inhabited since prehistoric times. Traces of a Gaulish oppidan
surrounded by ditches dug out of the chalky land can still be
seen. Extensive ruins from the Roman occupation still exist.
The commune is situated in the canton of Villefranche de
Lonchat and has a surface area of 2337 hectares and a
460 (official population on January 1, 2017).
Coat of Arms
The name of the parish appears for the first time in 1140 in a
text, ‘the donation to St Florent’, as
'Sanctus Petrus de Monte
Petroso'. The patron
saint of the parish is St Pierre-ès-Liens.
In her work on Gurson-Montaigne, Mme Gardeau sites for the
commune of Montpeyroux and the Château de Matecoulon,
Montaigne’s brother and his successors, the Belcier and Cazenave
families. It seems logical, therefore, for the commune of
Montpeyroux to evoke the Montaigne and Cazenave families on the
coat of arms, hence : Quartered : 1 or tower
on azure; 2 three argent fess on gules; 3 argent lion on gules;
argent rose on azure which is Cazenave. On the fesse-point an
azure heart-shield scattered with leaves of clover and an or
lion’s foot in fess brochant which is Montaigne.
Motto : 1140- Sanctus Petrus de Monte Petroso -1997
Text translated by Pays du Grand Bergeracois (professional translator).