Print this page Print
HomeTown Hall  > 
Singleyrac Town Hall Version Française
   

History of the Commune
The etymology of the commune’s name derives either from the Latin ‘singularis’ meaning wild boar or from the name of a Gallo-Roman landowner. The discovery of bronze artefacts dating from 1800 to 1500BC testify to the longevity of man’s presence in the area. Several 13th century buildings still stand. In 1680 the parish was called Saint Gleyrac. The church has Romanesque foundations and a rib-vaulted square chancel.

     
   

The commune falls in the canton of Eymet. It is a charming little country commune with a flower-lined village, half-way between Bergerac and Eymet. It can be reached by the D15 departmental road going towards Castillonnes and is situated in the heart of the bastide trail and the Wine Route.

The commune has a surface area of 709 hectares and a population of 302 (official population on January 1, 2017).
 

     
   

Text translated by Pays du Grand Bergeracois (professional translator).