has more than 2000 years of history, as witnessed by place
names such as “Peyrelevade” or “Peyrebise”. They show human
occupation since Prehistory. Remains of Roman tiles and pottery
found not far from the village are signs of a Gallo-Roman
settlement. Amblard is a first name of Germanic origin, which
was in style during the Roman era. Up until the end of the 18th
century, Villamblard was an important town, the main half-way
stop on the route from Bergerac to Perigueux.
important remains of the Barriere Chateau (from the 12th to 14th
century), which stand at one end of the town . Wigrin de
Taillefer, who had a passion for history, was born here in 1761.
Here, he set up his “antiques consultancy”. He was one of the
region’s first archaeologists and dedicated his life to
protecting the heritage and restoring the honour of a Perigord
too often forgotten by historians. In 1824 he printed “the
antiques of Vésone”, a study of the Roman city of Perigueux,
whose safeguard he allowed.
the centre of Perigord, halfway between Bergerac and
Perigueux, Villamblard is the county town of a canton that
groups 17 communes. It’s surface area is 2043 hectares, and it
inhabitants (official population on January 1, 2017).
You can let yourself be captivated by the gentleness of the
rolling countryside, by the winding roads and paths edged with
chestnut and pine forests. It is common, at the bend in the path,
to discover a manor, a country house, or a discreet chateau
hidden in a nest of greenery
Text translated by Pays du Grand Bergeracois (professional translator).